Date: 24th Aug 2019
L&DCC is not responsible for Third Party websites

Chair's Report 2018

Date: 31st December 2018

Chair's Report 2018

Having pre-read the Secretary’s report (Chris is always the first one to finish) I can simply say that if you have read it – read it again. It is a perfect summary of the activities that underpin the sound running and governance of the Comp and recognises those individuals that work hard to do so. I would only wish to add my thanks to all of the Management Committee, Assistant Result Secretaries, umpires and other officials for everything they do. We are lucky to have them.

So, to the cricket. After a tight first half, Northern pulled clear to win the Premier League and flew the flag for the Comp on the national stage. Southport and Birkdale’s careful planning and determination paid off with an immediate return to the top flight where they will be joined by Orrell, a club clearly delighted at the prospect of their first year in the Premiership. Old Xaverians, a club that has gone from strength to strength, both on and off the field in recent years, progress to Division 1 as Division 2 champions, accompanied by another club on the up, Northop Hall. Bootle won the Ray Digman and the Echo, Liverpool won the Ray Tyler and Ormskirk won the ECB T20 group.

Sadly, Skelmersdale’s troubles led to automatic relegation to the Southport and District League, although their youngsters will happily play in our Junior League. We welcome Norley Hall promoted into the Comp, continuing the true meaning and operation of the ECB’s feeder league system. 

None of these teams could operate without second and third elevens and it is appropriate to congratulate the successful teams in 2018. Ormskirk 2 won the 2nd X1 Premier title with Liverpool 2 and Sutton 2 winning their respective divisions. Saturday league honours went to Ormskirk 3 in the Premier and Wallasey 3 in Division 1. The newly regionalised Sunday 3rd divisions saw Leigh, Orrell, Formby and South Liverpool winning through to the Championship play-off won by Formby 3s.  The cup winners were Sefton Park 2, Old Xaverians 2, Ormskirk 2, and Ormskirk 3 (x 2).  

2019 sees our new Management Structure introduced and it is heartening to see a good number of individuals coming forward to take up positions on the new sub committees. It is vital for the long-term functioning of the Competition that new and yes, younger, people come forward and take part in the running of the League.

Finally, the League continues to provide a platform for some of the County’s best to play their domestic cricket and for our own players to test themselves at the highest level. I make special mention though of just some of our League’s youngsters progressing on County Pathways starting with Ormskirk’s George Lavelle. His signing of a full contract with Lancashire at age 18 is testimony and a reward for him, his club and his family. Alder’s Liam Naylor gained U17 representative honours with Scotland and Rainford’s Finlo Smith is now a member of the Lancashire Academy. Huzaifa Zubair (Sefton Park) Alec McLoughlin (Hightown St Mary’s), Ben Walkden and Matthew Hurst (both Newton Le Willows) have all been selected for the Lancashire Emerging Player Programme (EPP) with Sebastian Botes (New Brighton) a member of the Cheshire EPP. 13-year-old Louis Disley (Sefton Park) in his first county season, has been selected to tour Mumbai with the County Age Group squad. 

Congratulations to Wavertree for their outstanding work with Visually Impaired Cricket and, although this side of the M6 has had a slow start with Women’s and Girls Cricket, things are looking up now with the appointment of our own Women’s and Girls Cricket Officer and some excellent work in the clubs. The Comp is proud of Natalie Brown (Sutton), Rachel Dickinson (Burscough) and Ellie Threlkeld (Rainford) with what they have achieved with the Lancashire Women’s Team.   

John Williams

Chairman Liverpool Gin Liverpool Competition.



Back to top